Architectural Barriers Act

The Architectural Barriers Act (ABA) was passed in 1968. The ABA was the first federal law to require that federal facilities be accessible to people with disabilities. Examples of federal facilities are post offices, social security offices, federal courthouses, and national parks. Because the ABA was already in place in 1990 when the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) was passed, the ADA doesn’t cover federal facilities.

Related Resources



Top 5 Historic Moments in Disability Rights
Infographic titled 'Top 5 Historic Moments in Disability Rights' featuring a background with exploding fireworks.

1968 - Architectural Barriers Act passed

1972 - Ed Robert and others establish the first Center for Independent Living

1973 - Rehabilitation Act Section 504 Passed

1988 - Dr. I. King Jordan named first Deaf President of Gallaudet University

1990 - Americans with Disabilities Act passed

If you have questions about the Americans with Disabilities Act, contact us at 1-800-949-4232